Skip to Main Content

Faculty

Melissa Blair – Ph.D. Candidate, University of Delaware
Lecturer
Public History, Architectural History

Rebecca Boehling - Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Professor, on leave
Modern Germany, Jewish History
boehling@umbc.edu

Terry Bouton – Ph.D., Duke University
Associate Professor
American Revolution, Early National U.S.

bouton@umbc.edu

Kate Brown – Ph.D., University of Washington
Professor
Soviet Union, Transnational
kbrown@umbc.edu

Scott E. Casper - Ph.D., Yale University
Professor and Dean of the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Nineteenth-Century U.S., Cultural
casper@umbc.edu

Christy Ford Chapin – Ph.D., University of Virginia
Assistant Professor and Affiliate Faculty in Public Policy
Political Economy, Capitalism Studies, U.S. 20th century
cchapin@umbc.edu

Amy Froide – Ph.D., Duke University
Associate Professor and Affiliate Faculty in GWST and LLC
Early Modern Britain, Gender
froide@umbc.edu

James Grubb – Ph.D., University of Chicago
Professor
Early Modern Italy

grubb@umbc.edu

Marjoleine Kars – Ph.D., Duke University
Chair, Associate Professor and Affiliate Faculty in GWST, LLC, and Public Policy
Early Americas, Atlantic World
kars@umbc.edu

Susan McDonough – Ph.D., Yale University
Associate Professor and Affiliate Faculty in GWST
Medieval France, Sexuality, Law
mcdonoug@umbc.edu

Denise Meringolo – Ph.D., George Washington University
Associate Professor and Director of Public History
Public History, U.S. 20th century
ddm@umbc.edu

George Derek Musgrove – Ph.D., New York University
Associate Professor
U.S. 20th century, Politics
derek.musgrove@umbc.edu

Andrew Nolan – Ph.D., University of Illinois
Lecturer and Director of UMBC History Program at Universities at Shady Grove
U.S. 20th century, Constitutional
nolan@umbc.edu

Meredith Oyen – Ph.D., Georgetown University
Assistant Professor and Affiliate Faculty in Public Policy
U.S. Foreign Relations, China, Transnational Migration
oyen@umbc.edu

Daniel Ritschel – D. of Phil., Oxford University
Associate Professor and Affiiliate Faculty in Public Policy
Modern Britain, Economic Policy
ritschel@umbc.edu

Anne Sarah Rubin – Ph.D., University of Virginia
Associate Professor and Director of the Center for Digital History Education
U.S. Civil War, Digital
arubin@umbc.edu

Michelle Scott – Ph.D., Cornell University
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, and Affliate Associate Professor in GWST, LLC, and Africana Studies
U.S. 20th century, Music, African American
mscott@umbc.edu

Joe Tatarewicz – Ph.D., Indiana University
Associate Professor and Director of the Certificate Program, Human Context of Science and Technology, and Affiliate Faculty in Public Policy
History of Science, U.S. 20th century,  Space exploration
tatarewicz@umbc.edu

Constantine Vaporis – Ph.D., Princeton University
Professor and Director of Asian Studies, Affiliate Faculty in GWST
Early Modern Japan, East Asia, Asian Studies
vaporis@umbc.edu